Many city centers these days have traffic flow problems, causing congestion and pollution. One solution is to build fast ring roads on the outskirts of a city, taking traffic away from the centre. While this is helpful in some ways, it also causes new problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As traffic flow in city centers worsens, many people believe the solution is fast ring roads on the outskirts of the city to ease congestion in the city centre. However, this only moves problems like pollution and noise to the outer city. Nevertheless, by combining these roads with public transport, ring roads can lighten traffic. On the one hand, ring roads can reduce congestion by diverting traffic and leading to faster journeys for inner- city commuters. Moreover, fewer cars mean less pollution and provide safer streets. Despite this, these benefits rely on good design and simplified connections to public transport. On the other hand, ring roads redirect traffic to the outskirts, taking pollution and noise with them. Adding to this, costs and construction disruption can make this a very demanding task for cities and possibly also cause urban sprawl. Therefore, ring roads alone do not fix the problem. Notably, a combined strategy of ring roads and public transport is needed to solve traffic problems. This can be achieved by ensuring ring roads link to railway and metro stations, creating safe cycling routes, or even introducing toll roads to control demand. In conclusion, ring roads can be beneficial if combined with public transport and its improvement. This makes the implementation of ring roads partial and conditional.