Nowadays there is a growing trend of private car ownership. Do the advantage outweigh the disadvantages for environmental problems associated with this?

In recent times there is a rapid increase in owning private cars.The writer will elaborate on both merits and demerits for environmental issues associated with this and an opinion will be given in subsequent paragraph. On the one hand,on main positive impact of private car ownership is that it helps decrease pressure on public transport.The increasing trend of using ones own car helps decrease the pressure on public transports such as trams,coaches,trains and buses.As a results,it helps the less privilege who are not able to afford expensive automobiles access public transports with ease without any pressure.A survey conducted by the students of University of Cape coast revealed that there has been a decrease in pressure on public automobiles due to increase ownership of private cars. This clearly shows how positive this trend has contributed to the development of countries in the globe. One the other hand, increase in environmental pollution is one disadvantage of many people owning private cars. This is because, more vehicles on roads releases fumes causing depletion of the ozone layer and air pollution as well which is detrimental to the health of people in such areas.A good example is in Urban areas where the use of private cars is on the rise, there are high chances of environmental pollution posing risk to the health of the general public. This vividly explains the disadvantage of many owning private automobiles In conclusion, eventhough private car ownerships helps decrease pressure on social amenities such as transports,the health risk it poses on people can not be ignored. Therefore the disadvantages outweigh the advantages of car ownership