Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

It is commonly assumed that, an excessive size of population in numerous urban cities is an important concern. Although, a lack of employment opportunities in rural areas, and poor entertaining facilities may be considered as the prime causes, governments can take steps to address this problem. First and foremost, it is clear that an increasing number of people in cities may possibly stem from the fact that, countryside regions predominantly fail to offer favourable circumstances for their residents, in terms of employment. It is true that, rural places are mostly specialised in the agricultural sector, which creates a challenge for individuals to find proper jobs. Moreover, some candidates are looking for such positions that are not common in villages. Thus, to ensure their career growth and financial stability, people start to move to urban areas. For example, most employees in Azerbaijan, working for large organisations such as Socar, are those who came from suburban regions. Secondly, a lack of entertainment facilities has a significant impact on making people leave their homes in rural areas. Unfortunately, the largest projects of shopping malls, parks and other venues are planned in urban regions, especially in capital cities. Thus, the rural population, in search of a more engaging lifestyle, decide to change their current locations. All these factors directly contribute to overpopulation. However, even though above mentioned reasons exist, authorities can still take effective measures to mitigate the issue. Firstly, a number of reforms may be done to combat poor infrastructure in the remote places. The government can introduce new facilities, such as new shopping centres, and even encourage businesses to open new branches of large corporations in countryside. Consequently, inhabitants of rural areas are more likely to stay and develop in their hometowns, rather than to move in search of new opportunities. In conclusion, although there are some key causes, such as poor job opportunities, that lead to overpopulation, a number of public policies to improve the quality of rural lifestyle can be conducted to prevent and reduce this phenomenon.