Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has a negative effect on their social lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past few decades, technology has evolved rapidly and so has the means of communication. Text messages and emails have certainly limited the face-to-face time with friends and family, which has a huge impact on their social lives. I completely agree with this view as people in general are becoming less confident in their day-to-day life. To begin with, social connection has always been an integral part of human society. Latest technology has certainly expanded the overall reach of communication; however, it comes with a cost. People who appear to be very confident on virtual meetings tends to show low confidence in on-site meetings and they show social anxiety. For instance, most of the young kids who can easily explain their thoughts on digital communication tools, find a very hard time to articulate the same meaning when they are physically present in front of others. On the other hand, modern tools can be efficient and reliable on connecting people from all over the world. Unlike in the past, we do not have to wait for weeks or months to receive a letter or to meet someone in person. For example, students studying aboard can have regular video calls with their parents or giving initial interview for a job position. It saves time and resources, while keeping the social bond together. In conclusion, new technology does help everyone to stay connected from different locations at any given time. However, having physical form of communication with one and another is also crucial part of social interaction. It gives better understanding of other human being and improves soft skills.