Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communiction possibilities world-wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this view.

It is often believed that instead of seeing the internet as a means of opening up new communication possibilities world-wide,we should be concerned about its impact on social interaction.The writing strongly agrees with the notion and the essay will explain why. First of all,it is an undeniable fact that technology has affected social interaction in recent times and it should not be ignored.One main concern of the effects it has is lack of confidence in people.The use of social media such as Facebook, instagram, twitter,Snapchat and WhatsApp has ruined communication skills. This has greatly affected youngsters especially between the ages of 15 and 24. As a result,these young children lack confidence to have physical interaction with their peers and in school.A survey conducted in the University of Cape Coast in west Africa revealed that 75% cases of lack of self confidence is as a result of the use internet for communication. This clearly shows the motive why there should be concern of the effect technology has on communication. Additionally,the use of internet creates means of impersonating.The internet enables people to use fake accounts on their social media platforms. This act can be done through copying and posting pictures of people especially celebrities,ministers and influencers on their page to communicate with people. This results in lack of trust in conversation with friends and family.A research constructed by Social science students in University of Ghana showed that there has been a rapid increase rate in impersonating cases in Africa due to the use of internet to communicate. This shows the negative impact on social interaction. To recapitulate, lack of self confidence and increased impersonating rates should not be ignored even though the internet helps in opening up new communication.