Many people prefer to communicate through social media instead of face-to-face interaction. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In these days, people prefer communicating by internet rather than interacting face-to-face. This is good for people that is far from their friends and family and for shy people that have problems to socialize. However, there are cons for children and teens such as meet weird people and problems of isolation because children do not interact with others. In this essay I will try to cover whether the pros outweigh the disadvantages. Turning to the advantages, many people study and work abroad, for this reason, they need communicate with their loved ones by social media because, is the only way to keep in contact with them. My brother went to work to Spain, so, every Sunday we do video call by Face Time to talk with him. Another advantage is that talk by internet could be useful for shy people that have problems to talk face -to face. Sometimes teenagers are introverts to talk and by internet they can express their feelings. On the other hand, there are disadvantages such as meet people by internet that could be weird. One of my best friend sisters, was communicating with a guy by Facebook and Instagram. They were chatting for long time and, when the time came to get to know each other the guy had been a convict for murder, hence was a bad experience for her. Another disadvantage is the problems of isolation in children that prefer communicate with friends on-line instead to get together in the park. With the advent of more technology in video games, where children can play and communicate in real time, more and more people prefer to play role games and stay in home than do sports and interact with others face-to-face. Is very common that people communicate by apps and social media and not interact with others face- to -face. Communicating by social media is very useful for people that is far from its loved ones so If the social media is used with responsibility the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.