In order to solve the problems of cities related to pollution and traffic, some people say that the government should offer free public transportation. Do you think the advantages of this will outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people believe that fixing pollution and traffic problems can be solved by free public transportation. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this statement and the following examples will be provided in order to support my point of views. One of the important reasons why free public transportation is not the key for solving those problems is that most of the population in Thailand do not commonly use public transport as a individual vehicle so that this opinion does not lead the way to solve this problems. For example, most of the vehicles in the roads are private cars because the quality of public transport are not good enough and this point will lead to traffic congestion and pollution from poor efficiency of the bus combustion engine. Another reason to support this is the fact that regulations are not strict to prevent the bad habit parking. To illustrate this, in recent news, it has been reported that some market in Thailand where people do not care regulation about parking area those market tend to have traffic jam and more PM25 from the traffic compare with the other space that people obey the law. This case demonstrates that the stricter regulation significant solve problems more than free tickets. In conclusion, it undoubtedly true that free public transportation is not the right way to fix the pollution and traffic because people normally use private car more that public, and traffic problem come from the way people respond or obey the law for parking.