Some school leavers choose to take a gap year to travel or work before entering university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this decision.

Nowadays, education plays a vital role in the future success of a person. The statistics prove that people who graduated from the university have a higher salary than others. But there is a question: should school leavers take a gap year or work before entering university? I consider this decision has some pros and cons, which I will describe later To start with, the advantages of taking a gap year are quite easy to understand. Firstly, future students would have some time what they really want. That's the common problem when parents decide what their child will study. The consequences of such a decision are bad: students are not motivated to study in the chosen area of science and lose a year before entering the best faculty for them. Moreover, if you are going to enter university right after school, you wouldn' t have any experience at work, and it would make future education less profitable. Without understanding what you need at work, it's harder to understand the real value of knowledge On the other hand, taking a gap year increases some risks for a person. If it doesn' t waste time on entertainment, there could be a situation when, after entering the university, a person just can' t study hard. For instance, one of my classmates took a year to chill and after that entered the university, dropped out during the first month. Also, there could be a problem connected with your friends. A university as a school is a place for socialisation. So, a person could lose contact with peers, which may raise mental problems. In conclusion, I would like to say, of course, it could be very profitable to give a year for the rest but I consider that it's for people with strong spirit who would really do something good in this free time. Otherwise, the graduation doesn' t really need to be for everyone, and everyone should make a decision what to choose.