Some people think that secondary school children should study international news as one of the school subjects. Others say that it is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there is a debate whether international news should be part of school subjects for secondary school students. While some people believe it is important to study world news, others argue that it waste valuable time of education. In this essay I will discuss both sides and give my own opinion. On the one hand, supporters say that learning international news give children a better understanding of the world. In modern era, countries are connected with each other, and students need to know about global issues such as climate change, war or economic crisis. For example, if young people follow news about environment, they may become more responsible and take actions to protect nature. Another reason is that international news improve critical thinking. By reading different news sources, children learn to compare information and not believe everything blindly. On the other hand, some people argue that school time should only focus on main subjects like math, science and languages. They believe international news is not very useful for students’ future exams or jobs. For instance, if a student want to become doctor, it is more important to study biology than follow political conflicts in another country. Moreover, news can sometimes be stressful and negative, which may affect children’s mental health. At a young age, they may not be ready to hear about wars or disasters happening around the world. In conclusion, although international news might take away some study time, I believe it is valuable for secondary school students. It can help them to understand global issues and become more open-minded citizens, but it should not replace the main academic subjects.