The best way to make roads safer is to make drivers take a driving test each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a believe that mandatory annual driving test will improve road safety. From my point of view, I completely disagree with this opinion. It is undeniable that testing drivers every year might reduce road accidents to a certain extent. For one thing, it can ensure drivers have the most up to date knowledge while on the road. Many people take their tests early in their adulthood but do not actually drive for a few years. And just a couple years of no driving can wipe out their knowledge and poses potential dangers to other road users when they start driving again. For another thing, mandatory recurring training would allow government to quickly iterate on traffic rules and make more frequent changes with minimum worry on how to educate the public. As new technologies develop quickly - including electric vehicles, autonomous driving systems - the drivers should be educated on how to use them effectively and safely, which would be enforced by recurring tests. Despite these potential benefits, I believe it has more drawbacks. Firstly, it is extremely costly to implement. The driving school and service centers are already filled with new drivers. Requiring all existing drivers to do exams would be unfeasible purely due to the volume of the population. While it is possible to build more facilities to accomodate, the cost needed from the government would be better spent on something else - improving road infrastructures, for example. Additionally, it also creates inconvenience to all the drivers. People have jobs and family to take care of and requiring them to take a few days off every year to study and take tests would interrupt their routine. People that work in other countries could see their driver's license expired while they are away, which can cause disruptions to their work. Finally, while I am against a mandatory annual tests, I could be in favor of a more flexible system where the tests are delivered online and the course content are based on their driving records. In conclusion, while requiring all drivers to yearly driving tests could reduce accidents and improve safety, it would not be the most effective or efficient way as it adds enormous costs to the government and the public.