Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a considerable debate over the topic whether it is beneficial for people to compete with others in every dimension of their social life or just to work as a team. As far as I am concerned, both views hold their advantages and limitaions. To grow into a good member of the society, people should combine these two methods. On one hand, rivalry is everywhere in modern wolrd and it can definitely contribute to the building of personal development for the individuals. Driven by competitions, people woud be motivated to work harder and strike for success in their positions. For examples, competions among single salesperson is a common way in many financial companies because the employees are eaily encouraged to boost their sales in wanting for higher bonus. As they reach their goals, they master professional skills and accumulate client resources. Besides, to avoid the waste of limited time and intelligent source that a single person can own, people would always work with greater efficiency. But always competing with other can also add pressure and create the fear of failure since they usually cannot bare to pay the price of losing the game. Cooperation works effectively on fostering individuals to be qualified social members. Working in teams can help social member to form their social skills, such as communication skills and leadership, which can then assist them to fit in the community. What's more, cooperation builds trust between team members, giving them a sense of belongs and stronger personal identities. These will later reward them as higher emotional maturity and mental well-being. Take insurance companies as an example: to sign bigger contract, they often work in small teams to meet their targets and share the bonus. The scheme is proved to be useful for the staffs would usually experience several failure when negociating with the customers, and this is when their team can support each other practically and emotiionally to get by. In conclusion, no one in the society can lead a competitive lifestyle all the time, and no one can be dependent to realize their personal value. To be an individual who knows how to win the contest as well as work as part of the team share the identical importance that contribute to one's final success.