Some people believe that charities should focus their assistance on individuals within their own country. Others argue that these organisations have a moral responsibility to help those in need regardless of where they live. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that social groups should work for the betterment of their own community, while others believe that help should be provided to anyone in need despite the gender, religion or country. This essay will discuss both perspectives before presenting my own viewpoint. To commence with, the individuals who think that charities should concentrate on the issues of their own country believe in making their nation stronger and successful. They are the followers of saying, charity begins at home - which means we should first take care of our own problems before lending hand to others. For instance, during COVID-19 pandemic, every country was suffering, hospitals did not have enough doctors, nurses, medication, or medical appliances to treat all the people in need. Therefore, instead of helping other nations, every country took incharge of their society and helped each other in whatever way possible. On the flip side, the people who support the concept of helping those in need regardless of where they belong treats the whole world as one place. According to their perspective, it is the moral responsibility of charitable societies to find people who need assistance and support them financially and emotionally to overcome the difficult times. For example, during farmers protest in India, people from different countries such as Canada, USA, Unites Kingdom, etc. came forward to support the farmers who feed the whole world. This further forced the government in power to amend the MSP laws in favour of farmers. Moreover, when Russia attacked the Israel, Canadian organizations helped to feed the kids and people who were dying of starvation. Consequently, in certain situations social groups had to come together to make the world a better place. To conclude, it is understandable from the above discussion that both the situations have its own merits. As per my opinion, I strongly believe that when the world is in crisis, then the social groups should help their own people to overcome the hardship, otherwise charitable organizations should support the individuals in need without thinking about their nationality.