Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there is some belief that if sweet products which cause negetive impact to peoples' health become more costly, the consumpsion rate might be decrease. In my opinion, I partly agree to this statement and I will examine the views and my opinion in this essay. On the one hand, it is true that the number of foods and beverages might be dropped as their prices are increased because demands of goods rely on their prices. When people consider the higher price of desserts or sweet drinks and therefore they are discouraged to buy the products. As a result, people consume less sugar which is a major reason leading to many health problems such as obesity, cancers, and diabetes. In contrast, foods and beverages producers have to decrease quantities of sugar in their product in order to manage their cost. If their products contain high cost ingredients, it will affect to their figures of selling and it may have negetive impact to their business. Hence, foods and drinks have lower level of sugar, people tend to have inevitably lower sugar intake and become more familiar with low sweet foods. Consequently, consumers would choose health food more and more. On the other hand, some people still have demands for sugary foods whether the prices are high or remain the same. The fist reason is because youth still have to consume sugar because sugar is a nutrition that generate energy which is significant for their growth. Hence, making sugar as a expensive ingredients may causes other problems. For instance, in poor family, the kids may become easily fatique because of lack of high energy foods. In addition, it is undeniable that sugary products play an important part of many cultures such as chocolate gift for Valentine, birthday cake, or mooncake for full moon event. So, higher price may result in people's expenditure and still have no impact for better health. Lastly, several people have sweet tooths and they need sugary products for their enjoyable life. Even though they already recognise how negative consequences to their health if they consume sugar, they have right to be happy by eating sugar. Those reasons convince me that the price of product not only unnecessary for some customers, but also being an obstracle for them. In conclusion, I agree that raising price in sugary products is a factor that may influent to customers decision whether they would buy the product or not. However, I do not think higher price can be a panacea that can completely cure the problem because there are other reason encourage them to buy the goods including children needs, their culture and their personal preferences.