In some contries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting univeristy studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantage for young people who decide to do this .

Many individuals in different countries prefer to get some rest and see the world or try some jobs for future selection in the year between high school and university. In my view it is a good decision for those who have not yet decided on their future for reasons which I will outline in the following essay. To begin, it is a lot of reasons to skip the year to see the countries and choose the best environment for yourself or try jobs to see what you want and get some money for the future university, because of expensive loans for students. Some choose to get a free year for themself to get some rest from knowledge or try to work in jobs which do not need any education. For instance, my brother got a free year between high school and university to travel, he was in most part of europe and chose the best one for him, it was Portugal, for the rest of the year he learnt a language and has already applied to universities there. This opportunity gave him time to choose, it is very important for a child to know what he really wants. On the other hand, if the university is already chosen with speciality, there is no need for this skip. It will be better to start studying already, due to employer requests, because they want younger workers who can study faster and be more adaptive for different situations. For example, I chose this option. In fact, from a young age I knew who I wanted to be, so choosing a faculty for future studies was not a problem. In conclusion, I believe that getting a free year for some reasons could be the best option, if you feel you struggle with choosing, but if it is not a problem going to the university after high school should not be a mistake.