In the 20th century, contact between many different parts of the world developed rapidly through the telecommunication and air travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undeniable that in the last century, technology has revolutionised the way people communicate and travel around the world. This essay will dicuss the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon. On the one hand, the development of communication between different parts of the world has enabled individuals to contact their loved ones 24\7 from anywhere in the world. In other words, we are able to keep in touch with family members, friends, or even attend job meetings. In addition, air travel has significantly facilitated long-distance travel. For example, In Saudi Arabia, going from Jeddah to Riyadh by bus takes 12 hours, whereas traveling by plane takes only around an hour. On the other hand, although this development has numerous features it also associated with some drawbacks. One of the disadvantages of such trend is that many people started to avoid meeting in person. In other words, due to the convenience and the availability to communicate anytime, it allows users to heavily rely on advanced technology, making physical meetings unneccessary. Another negative point that concerns many scientists is air pollution. In simple words, planes need a huge amount of fuel in order to function, these fossil fuels contribute to producing harmful emissions, like carbon dioxide and other harmful components, which can be substantially detrimnental to the enviornment. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that the advantages of this approach outweigh the disadvantages.