As housing is a basic need for people, government should provide free housing for everyone who cannot afford it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A school of thought is that the provision of accommodations for impoverished people should be undertaken by governments. While acknowledging the reasons behind this proposal, I still challenge this viewpoint. Granted, it is understandable why some contend that social housing can be beneficial to a certain extent. According to their viewpoint, free accommodations for underdeveloped individuals would reduce the incidence of homelessness and inner-city slums on the street. This policy, they say, significantly boosts the civilization status of the overall urban setting. Nevertheless, advocates of this scheme overlook the fact that social housing campaigns may inadvertently dampen the aspirations of impoverished individuals, reducing their drive to achieve greater things. Besides, there are several reasons why I oppose providing free houses for the poor. One major problem is that social housing is requires a substantial amount of money for residential construction and the facilitation of development, which takes a toll on government coffers, especially in underdeveloped countries, where financial ability is quite stretched thin. The argument criticizing this policy is fortified by the fact that such secure and affordable housing exerts detrimental repercussions for the poor's access to job opportunities. This is because these provided houses are often proposed to be located in areas far from the dynamic economic hubs in the city where people can easily seek well-paid jobs with regular incomes to make a living. In conclusion, although there are mixed opinions on determining whether the cost of social housing should be borne by the government, I believe that such a policy impacts the economy and its recipients enormously.