Research into new types of medicine and treatments are essential to improve health and deal with diseases. Who do you think should fund these researches : private companies, individuals or the government ?

Dealing with diseases and improving health requires a lot of research in medicine and health treatments. There is an ongoing debate whether private companies, individuals, or the government should fund this research. This essay will examine the differences before presenting a reasoned conclusion. Firstly, new medicine is only useful if it is available and affordable to everyone. Private companies often have personal gain and growth in mind, which leads to costly treatments when new research is conducted. For instance, when corona hit the world, big pharmaceutical companies made billions in revenue by selling their vaccines to different countries. Therefore, leaving private companies to conduct crucial medical research results in treatments being unaffordable to the public. Secondly, some medicines require massive funds to cure small but deadly diseases. Leaving individuals to raise the money, for example by donations, will almost never cover the needed costs. This is owed to the fact that healthy people do not think about illnesses until it affects them or their family members. As a result, uncommon diseases will not receive the required funding for research or treatment. This only leaves governments to invest in research projects and treatments. They not only have the money to fund this research, but also lack the need to make profit from new cures. Furthermore, the government can afford to support different research projects and treatments with the motivation to help as many people as possible. In conclusion, while private companies have the money to fund research, they are also looking for personal gains. Furthermore, whilst individuals’ personal gains are healthy family members, they lack the needed money. This leaves the government as the most beneficial investor in researching new medicines.