Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Recently, an increased number of people are facing health problems due to their indulgence in alternative medicine and treatments instead of leveraging modern medicine. This development is controversial on whether it's a positive or negative, but in this essay, I would argue that it is a symptom of a far worse underlying issue of trust in the medical institution. A lack of trust that appeared from two main causes, the overworked medical staff and the lack of public awareness. The first issue is the overworked medical staff. Doctors and nurses go throw many years of studying and practice before they can work at a hospital, and this while good because we can have a high level of quality medical staff working from day one, defers many people from going to the medical field. The medical field has high barriers of entry, which results in highly paid professional who are overworked and overstresses. A study from Harvard university found that doctors and nurses are among the exhausted professions. The main result of this issue is a medical staff who is not fully engaged with their patients, which increased the lack of trust that people have toward the medical profession in general. The patients then turn to alternative medicine, where the practitioner is fully engaged and focused on their patient. The second issue is that many people are not aware of the danger of alternative medicine nor the full extent of modern medicine. Schools and media are partly to blame in this issue. Schools ignore or do not do a good job of enhancing the awareness in the dangers of alternative medicine or the usefulness of modern medicine. Traditional media try to focus on what grabs the attention of their viewer, and nothing is more boring than a lecture about the current status of modern medicine. In general, the lack of awareness makes people lean into alternative medicine. In conclusion, the increasing number of people who have health issues and opt to use alternative medicine instead of modern medicine is a negative development. A negative development that is a result of a bigger issue of trust and awareness in the medical field.