Many aspects of the way people dress today are influenced by global fashion trends. How has global fashion become such a strong influence on people’s lives? Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, the fashion industry has been making a huge profit from people who are keen on their dressing style, and the companies are also creating many varied fashion trends around the world. In my personal view, fashion trends are a double-edged sword, and are two reasons why global fashion can impact people’s lives so strongly. Meanwhile, I believe that the trend is negative overall. One of the primary reasons leading to this is that, following the higher standards of people’s living around the world, their income has improved. People can focus more on their own images, so many companies that have been working in the fashion industry would grasp this opportunity. They create different appearances of costumes, which may not be a common style, in order to stand out from the crowd and catch people’s eyes. And then they hire some renowned actors, for example, to advertise for them, and the costumes will be introduced to the public. After this kind of progress, the fashion trend has been created globally. Another factor that should be taken into consideration is that the financial management attributes, especially something limited. If a necklace, for instance, is only made a very limited quantities, their value could be improved in the future, so that you can sell it at a higher price than you bought it. This trend can exert more negative impact on whatever people’s financial condition and the global enviroment. Firstly, if fashion does not keep changing all the time, it will not be called fashion anymore, so that means not all people have the affordability for those fast-paced fashion trends. However, there are truly some people eager for the fashion trends without considering their financial capacity, and it will eventually lead to another problem with their livelihood. Moreover, what is also worth mentioning is that in order to make clothes or other accessories, the countless woods and mineral resources around the world have to be chopped down and excavated, which would destroy the landscapes and biodiversity. In addition, the natural calamities would increase due to the loss of forests. In conclusion, the rise in the standard of living and the value-keeping ability are the main factors why fashion trends are a global phenomenon. The unhealthy spending habits and the disasters brought about by nature, with the potential catastrophes, are the reasons why I believe that development is a disadvantage.