Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The use of mobile phones has increased globally. In many countries, the government is allowed to keep a track of people's personal calls and texts for safety concerns. However, many people believe that this is beneficial, while others dislike the idea. I personally think that it is a breach of anyone's privacy, and should be discouraged. To begin with, mobile phones are used to contact anyone without any hindrance, thus creating unsafe practices in the community, like ransom calls. Thus, tracking by governing bodies can be helpful in emergency situations. For instance, my colleague got a fake ransom call, saying his son had been kidnapped and demanded a huge amount of money. The local police traced the call, and the culprit was caught timely saving the kid. This signifies the benefit of call tracking by authorities, giving advantages to victims. In contrast, many do not like the idea of getting noticed constantly. They feel the government is spying on them, and so do not feel comfortable discussing their private matters over the phone, even with their family. Such as, a newlywed couple can not discuss their personal matters over the phone, because they know that someone may be listening over. It is totally inappropriate, as it interferes with someone's privacy, and higher bodies do not have a right to it. In the end, while mobile phones can give people freedom to communicate, they can also create a threat which can be protected by a call tracking system. On the other hand, it also disturbs the privacy of people. I personally believe that the government must ask permission before accessing anyone's personal record so people are not uncomfortable with the fact that someone is spying on them all the time.