In some poorer areas of large cities people are too afraid to leave their houses at night time due to a fear of crime. What are the causes of crime in those areas and what can be done to tackle those problems?

In the poorer section of many metropolitan cities, people are scared of going out of their houses after sunset, due to potential risk of crime. There are many reasons of, why this happen such as hunger, etc. However, these problems can be tackled with the help of government actions. I will explicate the casues of these incidents, and the ways to avoid them, further in this essay. First and foremost, when we talk about the reasons of criminal activities, prevalent in lower section of society of the large cities, the very initial one is, lack of education. Due to lack of resources in such arenas, most children are unable to learn, and remain illiterate, which, makes it impossible for them to get a proper job. Hence, their inability to make money, prompts them to do the illegal things, to earn a livelihood. For example, the largest slum in Indian resides in Mumbai, and has an illiteracy rate of almost 82%, with most of them engaging in extortion and drug selling to support a meal for themself and their family. However, these criminal activities can be avoided if the government takes necessary initiatives to tackle these problems. There should be free public schools and night schools opened for people living in such areas, so that they can get the required schooling, and hence, gain confidence to find a decent job. There should also be special quota and scholarships, offered to such children in education system, so that they can enroll for further studies. For instance, in India, there is a percentage of seats alloted to the students of backward class or scheduled caste, in almost every field, such as education, government employment sectors, etc. Conclusively, I believe that noone is a born criminal. Circumstances and lack of the resources, sometimes, forces an individual to engage in criminal activities. These can be avoided by offering them adequate opportunities, to generate income, and hence live a better life.