Children spend a lot of time watching TV and playing computer games; however, it does not help in improving their mental abilities. Do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, children pass so many hours in front of a television or on the computer playing games, which does not help them at all to develop their mental abilities. I fully agree with this statement. In this essay, I will present my viewpoint and the reasons that support it. Foremost, we must understand that the period of childhood is crucial for developing both, physical and psychological skills. Therefore, it is of great importance to provide kids with tools and spaces that allow them to discover their full potential. A study by the Massachusetts Department of Neuroscience, indicated that children who are exposed to screens for long periods, tended to be less creative and developed a dependence on visual stimulation. In addition, they had difficulty interacting with other children in activities. Moreover, constant exposure to the content of programs and games, can create a biased image of reality, and affect their emotional intelligence. The most popular games played by children, are related to violent and armed confrontations, which has a negative effect accompanied by large amounts of dopamine due to the stimuli it generates. For example, a study in a school with children aged between 6 and 11, showed that those who played or watched violence on devices, tended to be much more conflicted and uncreative, not to mention that they also had difficulty concentrating, because many were also addicted to these games. To conclude, allowing children to spend many hours on the TV or computer is an irresponsible and thoughtless act, since it inhibits their social abilities to interact with other kids, in addition to creating a certain dependency and vague connection with the real world.