oday more people are overweight than ever before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

Life has changed significantly in recent years. One change is that we see more obese individuals in societies compared to the past. There are a lot of reasons for this phenomenon, and obesity definitely has several negative consequences. Being overweight is a result of different social and individual causes. The first thing is the huge change in the lifestyle of people, especially in the new millennium. People used to be more active since jobs and careers needed people to be so. However, these days, as a result of advancements in technology and a change in the form of jobs, people don’t need to be active at work, and they mostly lead a sedentary lifestyle. Furthermore, our ancestors’ food interests have shifted to fast food. People tended to eat healthy food like organic vegetables, dairy products, and proteins, whereas, nowadays, the majority of the population prefers to have food, which is easy to prepare. Unfortunately, this kind of food doesn’t have much nutritional value, and most of them are high in calories. Another cause, which should not be underestimated, is that people don’t spend enough time for exercise recently. While in the past, people often went hiking and climbing because there weren’t other entertainments, in the modern life, they are so busy, and they can’t find free time to exercise. Therefore, these events lead to obesity. Having bad habits in our lifestyle creates a lot of problems. When our arteries get blocked with fat, the risk of cardiovascular disease and heart attack increases. Similarly, obese people are prone to type 2 diabetes. Hence, all these chronic diseases reduce the quality of our lives. As a result, the mortality rate and different types of cancers rise, particularly among young people. Moreover, the next generation might imitate these behaviours, and in fact, it will be so harmful for their health. In conclusion, due to living in modern life and competitive world, our lifestyle has changed completely, in which we use our private vehicles, and we become so inactive and tend to eat fast food more than before to get more time to work. Thus, we are more overweight, and I recommend more physical activities and avoiding high-calorie food to the new generation to promote overall health.