Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree

It is highly debated that clean water is a basic human right and should be provided freely for households. I partly agree with the statement and the reasons will be explained as follows. On the one hand, providing clean water freely brings several advantages to individuals. To begin with, both drinking or taking a bath demand clean water, if the quality of water is low it could lead to skin diseases or stomach problems. In the long run, it not only affects health issues, but also impacts on medical systems, especially in rural areas or developing countries. For example, some regions in India suffer from serious water pollution, and the number of residents who get stomach diseases is high. Secondly, if people can access clean water from their house, they can save the cost of buying water and delivery time. It is truly helpful for low-income families and achieving social equity. On the other hand, making clean water accessible has some drawbacks that cannot be neglected. Firstly, due to the fact that corporations could not afford the prices of installment and fixing, they rely on grants from the government. As a result, the pressure of the economy increases, leading to the growth of taxes or reducing other welfare. For instance, the Japanese government in order to make every home have clean water for free then raise taxes, which causes complaints from people. Next, the policy is not suitable for every area. It would be a waste in the mountain areas where they originally have high-quality water. Besides, the prices of construction and maintenance are too high in some rural areas that lack infrastructures and are not cost-effective. In conclusion, although supplying clean water for free brings some merits such as health and high quality of lives, it may lead to economic burden or waste.