Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. What solution is better?

The preference of building taller or wider buildings in some cities depends on the vision and on what is being prioritised in that area or society in the future. In this essay I will explain why I support the latter approach and why it is the most sustainable option. To begin with, making taller buildings might look more aesthetically pleasing and modern. Which is why it is commonly chosen in newer projects. However, going wider is not only environmentally responsible, but also as visually appealing as horizontal cities. A study in 2019 showed that the most visited destinations are the European capitals; Amsterdam and Paris. Which are considered to be larger, not taller cities. However, tourists from all over the world visit these beloved cities for their beauty. Furthermore, towns with the most space of land have better distribution of sunlight, which is necessary for both the environment and the mental well-being of the population. A study that was conducted in the United Kingdom in 2021 showed higher depression rates in areas that lack consistent sun exposure and during months with minimum daylight as well. This proves that the decrease or the inconsistent distribution of natural light can significantly impact the quality of life among the population. To conclude, choosing to create a wide town with shorter houses and buildings is the obvious and better strategy for the aesthetic and visual appeal, the environmental reasons, the higher quality of life and the mental well-being of its population.