Many aspects of the way people dress today are influenced by global fashion trends. How has global fashion become such a strong influence on people's lives? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this modern world, more and more people especially youngsters try to keep up their styles with fashion trends. There are some reasons behind this and I believe it can be perceived as a negative trend. Let us start with two main reasons which are behind people's growing inclination to follow fashion trends. For one, media and celebrities play a significant role in the expansion of this trend. That is to say people especially youngsters tend to imitate the style of celebrities. When the change their styles regularly, naturally those who follow them would alter their style. For another, the growth of this trend coincide with globalization and marketing. Today, people from different parts of the word have access to a wide range of clothes and garments. Many brands such as Addidas and Zara have representatives in almost all countries and it means easy access to more variety. Also, the improvement of delivery infrastructures worldwide has accelerated this trend. Therefore, with the help of media and globalization, following fashion trends have easily become accessible. However, I think this trend can be perceived as a completely negative trend in two ways. First, it evident that people ’s growing inclination to fashion can intensify consumerism phenomenon. That is to say when people try to keep up with fashion trends, the rate of consumption would conform with speed of fashion changes. Given the high rate of changes in fashion and simultaneous existence of multiple trends, it can be expected to be face with growing consumerism phenomenon. Additionally, fashion have turned into a international language as people from different cultural background try to follow it. The way people choose their style, speaks volume about their personality and identity. If they follow fashion trends to become similar to others in different parts of the world, they regularly would put off parts of their own culture which represent their international identity. As a result, after a while, they leave their culture behind. Finally, this trend exert financial pressure on people in particular, teenagers and their parents. In other words, those who try to match different color and style based on fashion trend, have to spend a huge amount of money on different items. To sum up, global fashion trends have negatively overshadowed different aspects of individuals, culturally, financially and more importantly, have intensified consumerism phenomenon. This have happened because of highlight presence of media and market globalization.