The international community must act immediately to ensure all nations to reduce their consumption of fossil fuels e.g. gas and oil. To what extent do you agree/ disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to explain your choice.

It is undeniable that changes in society may lead to a wide range of opportunities and difficulties. The global community must act instantaneously to ensure all countries to reduce their consumption of gasoline. I partially agree with the statement, as it offers certain benefits to the environment, it also brings several drawbacks to individuals and society. This essay will discuss both views. On the one hand, there are several merits of reducing the consumption of petrol, but one of the most prominant one is that it reduces carbon emission which is primary cause of global warming. This means that if the government increases the price of gas and oil then individuals prefer to use public transport instead of public transport, which directly reduces carbon output. Moreover, the government can use extra revenue to make public transport more convenient and flexible. For instance, many European countries increase the price of oil, as a result people prefer to use electric cars which is eco-friendly and affordable. On the other hand, despite these positive aspects, there are several drawbacks associated with this. One of the most notable demerits is that it causes financial burden on citizens. In other words, due to high taxes on fossil fuels, middle and low-class families are facing financial burden because public transport fares are expensive and make their commuting difficult. Additionally, other alternative methods are required to tackle the environmental problems, such as plastic ban, strict rules and regulations and proper recycling process. For example, in India, many states ban plastic and inclied towards paper bag and cloth bag which decrease the pollution level. In conclusion, although reduction in consumption of fossil fuel has various advantages, such as low carbon dioxide and greenhouse gases, it also has several drawbacks, such as economic burden on families, which should not be ignored. Therefore, I partially agree and believe that it is important to strike a balanced approach so that the merits outweigh the demerits.