Some people think history tells little or nothing, whereas others believe it makes us know the present. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Undoubtedly, with time progressing, human activities have been recorded and documented for a long period of time to form history. Whereas some people look upon the existence of history as an indicator to connect the past and the present, others refer to this as something meaningless to know the past. As for my perspective, I am in favor of the former, and the reasons will be elaborated on thoroughly as follows. An array of causes may lead to why history seems to be rather useless to this contemporary society. To begin with, due to different backgrounds, ancient history cannot be totally and directly applied to this modern era. For example, our ancestors used to adopt fires to warm, cook and fight against others; however, this application does not exert the same value to the present days since modern people tend to mainly make use of electricity at home or anywhere they prefer, so the learning may be too distant between these two different periods. Secondly, most history has been written by historians with subjective perspectives, so the authenticity of history ought to be doubted. In other words, the validity of history may suffer from the manipulation of authority, containing certain grounds, leading to little value to be trusted. On the other hand, as far as I am concerned, learning history may truly bring more benefits to individuals and societies. Firstly, previous mistakes can be learned to be the foundation of the present since most people may learn a lesson from what they have been wrong. Based on a study conducted by National Taiwan University, in 2020, the Taiwan government successfully combat the attack of Covid-19 and reduced the case rate to 50% lower than other surrounding countries since we had learned lessons from SARS 18 years ago. Furthermore, history can be acquired from the past to link to the learning of cultures and origins; through history, more customs and practices can be illustrated clearly and reasonably. To put it another way, more modern people cannot understand much regarding why certain cultures may turn in this way, but going back to history, more answers can be offered to those knotty questions. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, I am firmly convinced that learning history can genuinely usher in more merits due to the fact that more mistakes can be avoided and more cultures as well as origins can be explained.