The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree of disagree with this statement?

There is no denying the fact that scientific discoveries play a crucial role in shaping our life. While it is a commonly held belief that the most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives, there is also an argument that opposes it. In my opinion, improving the quality of life should be the top priority for scientists. To begin with, the improvement that would take place in people’s lives will ultimately develop life quality. In other words, aspects like healthcare, education, and finances when progressing can result in a better life. In addition, when people’s lives are good and stable, they are more likely to focus on other problems to tackle. For example, they can start addressing environmental issues, such as global warming, air pollution, and reduction in species. Another point to consider is that enhancing civilians’ lives can lead to the creation of better societies. Therefore, having better society is a concrete step towards creating advanced and prosperous nation. Moreover, the presence of stable life allows people to be innovative. For instance, if the fundamentals of living are fulfilled, individuals are more likely to be creative and skilled, just like the case with Japan’s people improvement qualities due to the research concentration on improving life quality. In conclusion, despite people having different views, I firmly believe that the primary aim of science should be the pursuit of knowledge itself besides improving the quality of life. As a science driven-society can create creative, confident, and well-educated members.