Some people think that governments should spend money on railways. Others believe that there should be more investment into new roads. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Travelling is an essential factor in a country's development. The quality of transportation systems greatly influence the productivity, time-efficiency and cost-effectiveness of a place. Two of the major ones being railway systems and roads, this essay provides insight on the different benefits that both can offer. Railways are used for a number of things, primarily it serves as pathways for public transportation. Through trains and subways, a large sum of people could get from one place to another, all while avoiding heavy traffic and congestion that one may experience in a private vehicle. These vessels can also be used for moving heavy materials in a safer manner, as compared to highways where accidents and casualties may happen. Roads on the other hand are like a basic framework. It can't be argued that they are more vast and generally used by the general population. They could be compared to the veins in the body, used to distribute vital oxygen to organs. This is where some may argue that roads should be invested in more. Deteriorating roads may be of more pressing issue as compared to railroads, if the majority prefer to travel by car. In my own point of view, roads are indismissable and more important. I am not avid of public transportation, and I enjoy the convenience of having my own car. For this very reason, I prefer developing new roads instead, to alleviate traffic and shorten my travel times. In conclusion, there are benefits to improving roads and railways. However, going with the one more frequently used seems to be of better value to me.