People should choose their course of study not on the basis of their own interests, but based on the kinds of jobs they can get. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some individuals argue that students should decide on their major, considering the availability of the occupations, not their personal interests. However, I completely disagree with this idea, because it may result in decreased productivity in the workplace and overincreased demand for trending jobs. To begin, neglecting the necessity of one's own choice can be followed by several problems later on, one of which is a considerable decline in their productivity. To be more exact, were graduates not to show interest in what they are studying, it would almost guarantee that they will not be interested in their occupation either. Despite employees having financial stability, a lack of interest prevents from working at their full potential and may even lead them to leave their work uncompleted. For example, if a child who desires to work as a constructor became a teacher at school, they would be more likely to exhaust themselves mentally faster, due to their desire to rely on their physical power. Additionally, there are numerous advantages to taking personal interests into account when choosing a career path. First of all, it leads to stabilisation of the need for different jobs. Having interests which differ from one another, people can study different subjects. As a result, they can occupy different occupations in the future instead of focusing on a single or a group of trending jobs. If the vast majority of people studied IT engineering, which is the most crucial course of study in the world of technology, many of the applicants would become unemployed because of the limited availability of places for IT engineers. In conclusion, I am more convinced that it is wrong to neglect personal interests when deciding on a subject to study, because it can prevent workers from becoming unproductive and stabilise the demand in a workplace.