Some people think that the government should spend more money on sport facilities for top athletes. Others argue that this money should be spent on sports facilities for ordinary people. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is argued by some that the government should invest more in sports facilities for professional sportsmen, whereas others hold an idea that this fund should be used on sports facilities for mundane people. I am of the opinion that the governments should support and fund ordinary people in sports facilities. On the one hand, top athletes represent their country in international sports competitions; especially, being successful in world cups or Olympic games are really important for athletes ’ careers. Therefore, they need to fund on their branch because they have to train with professional equipment and professional facilities. As a result, governments should spend money on sports facilities for top athletes. Consequently, not only they represent their country but also they can reach easily opportunities at professional standards. For example, having easy access to an Olympic swimming pool is crucial for a professional swimmer’s accomplishment. On the other hand, professional sportsmen can find financial supporters rather than ordinary people. For instance, a company which produces sportswear or special foods and supplements for sportsmen may sponsor to athletes. However, ordinary people might not benefit from all sports facilities without financial support. Specifically, children or young people who are talented but have poor families should be encouraged and financed by states. Hereby, governments may both find new talents and mundane people can have a chance to become professional in the future. As a result, governments may provide free or affordable sports facilities to ordinary people. In conclusion, while some people believe that states should fund more money to professional athletes, it seems to me that they should spend more money on sports opportunities for people who cannot afford to access those facilities.