In many workplaces, online communication is now more common than face to face meetings. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In many organizations they are now preferring online mode of communication and are convening more online meetings than the conventional ones. I believe there are significant benefits to having online engagements, with only a few minor drawbacks. Online meetings have numerous advantages at the workplaces and has gained a lot of traction. This is because it is very convenient and saves a lot of time which many people don't have today. When organisations hold their meeting, they record close to 100% turn out because people can easily log in to the meetings wherever they are and can participate. Furthermore, It is considered to save time and resources that could be spent in convening and assembling people to a physical meeting. On the other hand, this has got its drawbacks as well, it breaches the concept of teamwork as it isolates people in their individualised spaces. It also limits the organisations culture of physical human interaction where people can read body language, emotions or simply appreciate sharing spaces. In addition, people who work remotely may battle with technology breakdown which could slow down their work and in turn affect productivity and results. In conclusion, online communication has brought numerous gains to the workplaces as it is convenient, saves time and resources. Admittedly, this also has its downside which should not be ignored.