Are social media platforms a distraction in education?

Social media is a distraction for students. These days, lots of students have their own phones and social media accounts. Therefore, students themselves may not notice, but their parents notice that electronic devices and social media are distracting for students. However it is a communication app for students that they can take lessons and learn lots of things from social media. And many people argue that it is for education or it is just for entertainment. Some people claim that nowadays social media is for education and studying. Moreover they believe that the younger generation is using social media for education. On the other hand, many people think that social media platforms make young people lazy and distract them from lessons. Supporters of social media believe that students can easily reach information for their education with social media. The question is whether students can benefit from it without distraction. During school hours many teachers argue that all the students are engaged with their phones and not socializing with other students. It is because social media is really distracting them from the real world. They can put aside the phones during the school period and we can easily solve this problem. Regarding this issue some people claim that students communicating and taking lessons from social media is safe and they really believe that this is way better and easier than face to face. However, during lessons many students play with their phones, use social media and not pay attention to the education their teachers give. Others strongly believe that face-to-face learning is more important for social skills for young people. In conclusion, the problem can be solved by the students. If they use it for education they can benefit from it. From my point of view, I believe that social media is distracting for students but it can be used for education too if they use it in the proper way.