News media is more influential nowadays. Some people think it is a negative development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this digital era, news media have become more and more powerful and influential. In this regard, the question arises whether this phenomenom is positive or negative. Although access to news is much easier and faster today, issues such as sensationalism, misinformation and manipulation make it a potential danger to society. Firstly, with the advent of new technologies, news and information are delivered instantly through various media. At the same time, new actors and communication platforms have emerged, taking advantage of social networks to reach millions of people. Communicators such as influencers or streamers, profit from their views and followers, and many of them, whether out of ignorance or ambition, misinform their audience. A study by Oxford University indicated that content and communication creators could have a reach almost 100 times greater than official media. Secondly, the most recent technological advances linked to the media, are extremely dangerous tools to influence, and above all, to confuse. For example, artificial intelligence has managed to create images and videos that are extremely credible, and many media use this tech to create biased and false news. Fake and sensational news, if they are well made, can cause chaos and cause people to make wrong decisions based on what they saw. To conclude, news media are powerful platforms for diffusion, which in turn leads to people with personal interests, using them to misinform and profit from them by failing to provide the truth. In addition, technologies such as AI, produce increasingly credible news, to the point of not knowing if what we see is real or not.