In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

It is highly debated that primary and secondary schools have two months or more in the summer vacations. The essay will explained the value of long holidays and revealed the argument of shorter holidays. There is no doubt that summer vacations brings several advantages to students. Firstly, it provides students opportunities to take a rest. As children have to study and take an exam every day, they would easily overwhelmed without proper holidays. For example, for those students who are facing university entrance exam, they may have a lot of pressure and anxiety. As a result, the negative emotions affects their learning performance, even leading to mental issues. Secondly, students can obtain other abilities that they cannot learn in school. A long holidays means they have enough time to travel, join a club, or do volunteer. Throughout these activities, they can learn practical life skills such as communication and team work, which help them develop comprehensive capacity. On the other hand, there is an argument in shorter holidays due to some potential disadvantages. To begin with, a long vacation may lead to negative impact on learning. Mainly because most of students are more likely to forget what they have learn in the past semester. Therefore, teachers have to spend time to review the content, which is not effective. Furthermore, for low-income or double-income family, parents may have difficulties to take care of their children. In other words, parents are too busy to stay at home to accompany their kids as they have to work. In conclusion, although there are some merits of long school holidays, such as a long break and develop extra skills. The argument of shorter vacations cannot be neglected as it affect students ' study performance and parents' pressure.