Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit the teenagers and the community as well. Do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

The debate over unpaid community work in teenagers’ free time has persisted for recent years in modern society. Some people argue that the young generation should be asked to do unpaid community work, whereas others believe that they don’t need to be required to do it. While public opinion is divided, I firmly believe that teenagers must be required to do community work. First of all, the main purpose is to promote social cohesion. The community has developed over a long period, and people live and help each other. For example, farmers often exchange their agricultural products with their neighbors, and they will ask for take care of their farmland when they take a long trip. It is necessary to preserve this traditional rule, although agriculture is not popular now. In addition, teenagers often ask for assistance from the internet, which limits the function of communities. Moreover, the other purpose is to instill community identity. Unpaid community work is a practical method to increase a sense of belonging, which makes children take responsibility for their community. For instance, high school students ask for cleaning the street near their campus, and they will maintain clean streets as they grow up. Admittedly, some children might be unwilling to do unpaid work in their free time. Yet it is a crucial issue for educators to teach children to contribute to their community. In conclusion, unpaid community work not only develops social cohesion but also builds community identity. Although some teenagers might be willing to play, they should be responsible for society.