Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure this survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Because of the importance of English in communicating with people worldwide, some people think it is more integral to learn English than other local languages regardless of students’ nationalities. This essay agrees the importance of English learning at schools, and local languages should be protected. In the following, the necessity of English as a lingua franca will be discussed, following by the strategies that the education system can take in protecting local languages. First of all, it is generally agreed that English is important because it serves as a common language that people from different countries can speak. Many citizens from developed countries, including the United Sates, United Kingdom and Australia, consider English as their first language. Therefore, to facilitate economic cooperation, English is often used as a common language for written and oral communication, so-called lingua franca. Considering the frequent use of this language in the workplace, the importance of English cannot be denied. For instance, Singapore is a culturally diverse country, in which Indonesians, Chinese and people from various other countries reside there. To unify the language for communication, English is adapted as the official language since Singapore would like to develop economically. Singapore is now known as a prosperous country, which justifies the importance of English as a lingua franca, which facilitates international cooperation and foster economic growth. Nevertheless, local language are increasingly vulnerable and protection can be done through education. In places where English is used as a second or foreign language, the first languages can become the medium of instructions for more school subjects. This ensures our next generation recognised the importance of the language, hence minimise their chance for their local languages of being forgetten. To exemplify, when Hong Kong was returned to China, teaching in Cantonese was implemented in primary and secondary schools, which equipped local students with higher proficiency in speaking their mother tongue by taking more courses which are instructed in their first language. This secures the proficiency of local languages among students and avoided of being forgotten, which can eventually lead to disappearance of the language. In conclusion, while it is apparent that learning English for everyone in contributing to the incoming developments of their country, local languages are also valuable and worth protecting through education.