The Internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In view of the rapid development of technology, communication does not necessarily take place in person. Instead, it is often done by using social media such as Instagram and X. While some appreciate this method of discussion, some against it. This essay discusses both sides of arguments, first by discussing how social medias strengthen interpersonal connections, then discuss how it fails to become an alternative of communication method. To commence with, the use of social media successfully boost the linkage between people. In the past, communications between family and friends are performed in monotonous ways, including telephone calls, text messages and face to face gatherings. Different social media facilitate communication by providing a wide range of methods for people to interact with one another, which encourage others to know more about themselves and strengthen relationships. For instance, Instagram provides various channels for communications. Apart from ordinary methods of communication, interactive approaches, such as posting and replying of stories, sharing of short videos called Reels and repost of Instagram posts facilitate discussion in various types. This enables others to gain a better understanding on the interests of somebody and help create common topics for communication. Therefore, social media strengthen the bonding between one another. However, social media may not be the ideal mean of communication because it cannot replace the value of in-person communication. Regardless of the number of ways for people to communicate virtually via social media, some aspects cannot be replaced and can only be done in-person. An obvious example include the use of physical language, ranging from basic aspects such as eye contacts that show respect, to hugs that provide emotional support towards others. The meanings given by these actions is unique and it can hardly be replaced by communications in social medias, which implies that face to face meetings is somewhat necessary in providing support that cannot be carried out in social media. In conclusion, some appreciate social media in boosting interpersonal relationship, while some hold conservations because social medias are not a perfect substitution of in person communication. Considering both sides of arguments, it is believed that the negative effect outweighs the positive ones.