Many young children are spending large amount of time in front of screens. What are the causes of this and what other problems does it lead to?

Nowadays, more children are spending most of their time on screen for different reasons, this issue has become increasingly serious. This essay will examine the main causes of this situation and explore the additional problems that may result from it. Busy parents is one of the main reason of spending more hours on devices. In another words, today, both father and mother are working at least ten hours a day and they need a rest in their home. Consequently, they allow children to use phones or watching television in order to stay quite. Another important cause is educational use. For example, in Oman, schools require a tablet to study and complete other tasks. Therefore, parents give their children a device to study but they easily switch to games. On the other hand, long time on screen leads to several problems. Firstly, poor social skills. To illustrate, less face-to-face interaction due to less communicate with their family and friends in real life. Secondly, lower academic performance. Too much online games and watching television can affect their achievement in school and reduce their attention span. Lastly, most children who spend long time in front screen are suffer from health issues, such as eyesight and obesity. Because they lack physical activities. In conclusion, it is clear that the major causes of more time on screen are busy family, the attraction of online entertainment and lack of outdoor activities. However, if parents encourage their children to outdoor activities and set screen - time limits this problem can be effectively reduced in the future.