Do you support that the nuclear technology should be used for constructive purposes? Use your own knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence. Give reasons for your viewpoint

With the increasing demands for clearer energy, whether nuclear technology should be used for constructive purposes has become a topic of widespread debate. There are counter-arguments on both sides of this issue, which I will be discussing further. On the one hand, supporters of nuclear energy argue that it can bring lots of benefits to humans. They claim that it is a better alternative to energy that comes from fossil fuels,like coal and gas. They emphasise that nuclear energy power plants produce relatively fewer amounts of carbon emissions than other power plants, thus, are less polluting than fossil fuels. Additionally, it is often said that nuclear energy is more reliable and less expensive. Due to the economic advantages it has countries, such as China and US, continue to use it, to expand their energy resources. On the other hand, opponents highlight the real cost of nuclear energy is much higher once people's lives are getting involved, and I tend to agree with this. A clear example of this is Japan's nuclear disaster in 2011, which was triggered by a massive earthuqake and tsunami. This was one of the most horrific incidents in the last century that was beyond the reach of the Japanese government. It devastated the environment and caused the loss of significant numbers of homes and lives. In conclusion, life and the environement are invaluable, and should not be put at risk to make nuclear power. I firmly believe that if governments started to take proactive actions in researching and developing renewable energy, it is possible to replace nuclear power with other safer solutions in the near future.