In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As the statement mentions, the upcoming vehicles will not contain a driver's seat because they do not need one. And this, results in having only passengers to be transported to different places. Although there might be some problems regarding this plan, the benefits weigh more and this solution can be successful. First of all, artificial intelligence is capable of finding the best path using complex algorithms. This can be a huge advantage as drivers might not be familiar with all of the existing routes in a city. For example, if someone wants to travel from Oxford to Cambridge, the machine can estimate various factors. These include the total kilometres and time it takes to go from point A to point B, and thus, it will find the shortest line possible. Secondly, having an automated driver can be safer because it does not exceed the speed limit. In addition, it will not do things that could be dangerous for the ones it carries. For instance, it can be the most convenient method for people who suffer from diseases, and who are more exposed to harm, especially children. Consequently, the car not only respects traffic regulations, but it also takes care of its passengers by checking their health from time to time. Even though there are good reasons to use electric cars, they are still not immune to harm. Malfunction can occur due to natural resources like rainwater. If it gets through, it can damage the internal parts. Furthermore, unless the security is high, potential risks can attack the system. One example of this is that, the system can be hacked. This can result in some significant problems like having an accident or misdirecting the way, which can cause casualties. To summarise the paragraph, there might be a few flaws in this procedure; however, these can be resolved if the security is guaranteed. Therefore, this method can be suitable both for the safety of people, and for saving time and energy on resources.