Competitiveness among high school children should be encouraged. Do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying the fact that sometimes competitions lead to conflicts among participants. While some contend that competitiveness should be encouraged among children, there is an opposing argument. In my opinion, I agree with the first notion. To begin with, I should highlight that I will be focusing on mentioning the very positive side of healthy competitions, as they have lots of benefits and should be encouraged to implement in schools. Competitiveness among children can significantly improve their overall performance. In other words, when children compete with others, they are more likely to work so hard to do the best they can, whether to obtain awards or just for the sake of enjoyment. Many studies have shown that students actually enjoy a lot when competing with each other and this improves their performance rapidly. Another point to consider about competitiveness and why it should be supported in schools is that it enhances many essential skills. It is possible to say that qualities, such as cooperation, responsibility, and time management are easy to gain in competitive environments. It is worth noting that such skills are not easy to achieve when students learn them theoretically during classes; however, competitive environments provide them the proper place to practise such skills effectively in real-life. For example, competitions about soccer offer students the chance to collaborate, set goals, and allocate time for practising together, all of which are extremely helpful to learn and would be beneficial for their personal and professional life. In conclusion, I believe that competitiveness ought to be encouraged among high school pupils, as it brings numerous advantages to students.