Some people say that to host international sports has lot of problems than benefits. To what extend do you agree?

Hosting an international sports event has serious repercussions for the host country, which range from the economic costs to the social factors at play. I believe such events are not as beneficial as they used to be for a country, and that they have far more disadvantages than potential benefits. First off, we must consider the fact that it takes years of preparation and billions of dollars for a country to be able to host an international sports event such as the World Cup. Representatives from countries go to great lengths to secure their spot as a host, through lobbying and various other politicial methods. This gives us the impression that hosting such events is largely beneficial. However, in my opinion, it is the state that reaps most of the benefits, while the country's working population has to bear the burden of the costs. For instance, host countries must assemble a huge labor force to complete the construction of stadiums in a timely manner. This will often lead to laborers operating in less than ideal, inhumane conditions, on top of not being paid proportionately. Therefore, while the country's state gets to market itself globally as a champion of sports, and a tourism hub, the reality paints a different picture. The massive costs of construction and preparation get passed down to the native population through higher taxes and price increases on essential goods for years after the international sports event has concluded. Furthermore, while I acknowledge that hosting an international event can positively impact a country's image worldwide, it is not always a given. In fact, hosting such an event may end up being counterproductive if the goal is to improve your nation's image. To be more specific, it is very possible that the foreign attendees have a poor experience in the host country for various reasons, ranging from a clash of cultures, to natural and environmental disasters. Nowadays, with the advent of technology and the constant access to the internet and social networks, bad news gets spread very fast. For example, a family who was unable to attend one of the football matches that they bought tickets for, due to unforseen circumstances, such as heavy rain, may end up blaming the host country's authorities for their incompetence. Once their poor experience gets shared by social media influencers and global news outlets, it will significantly harm the host country's reputation and paint it in a negative light. To conclude, hosting an international sports event comes with downsides that far outweigh the potential benefits for a country. Not only the host country has to spend an exorbitant amount of money to prepare for said international event, which is unlikely to financially benefit the native population, but also, the country's image and credibility on the world stage may suffer as a result. Ultimately, if I had been given the opportunity to choose to host an international event, I would pass, and allocate the budget to other priorities, such as healthcare and public infrastructure.