As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that the user should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Recently, cars ownership increase significantly around the world, and will affect road systems drastically. It is argued that the government should cover the road system costs, while others think road consumers have an obligation to preserve the road with some taxes. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my humble opinion. On the one hand, road systems is one of the most major and vital infrastructure in every countries. The existence of roads will increase an economic growth and road networks will enhance socio-political culture for a country. For example, Indonesia constructed major toll roads from west java to east java recently in the last 10 years, and these policy created a huge impacts for economic growth. Indonesia's GDP increased almost 6 per cent in 2022, and Indonesia became the most highest GDP in South-east Asia in 2023. Based on this condition, the government should spent their funds to develop more roads because they gain many benefits from these policy. On the other hand, road systems require to preservation regularly to mitigate harmful effects. When many vehicles use the road, it will damaging the road slowly. Thus, vehicle users should cover the preservation cost to assist the goverment. For Instance, in some countries in South-east Asia, car owners will pay some road bills annually to local government due to road preservation. In addition, these regulation will reduce government and infrastructure costs. In conclusion, the government should cover the road costs regularly because they always gain a economical, socio-cultural, and political benefits from these infrastructure. Furthermore, is not a mandatory for civilians to cover the costs because the government have more benefits from the economical activities.