In most countries, prison is an effective solution for the problem of crime. Some people think a more effective solution is to provide a better education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the majority of countries, prison is used as the most efficient tool to address crime. However, many people claim that educating criminals can have more positive effects. While being agree that education can also positively affect, I assume that incarceration serves as the best disciplinary action. On one hand, educating criminals offers several benefits. Firstly, rehabilitation. Unlike punishments that can stir up revenge in offenders, education plays the role of a navigator that guides them through legal paths. For example, if a perpetrator truly acknowledges his error and remains unpunished, this person will be grateful and will not commit a crime again. Moreover, giving an education will not only serve as punishment but also show the correct way of acting. Especially, this can be useful for those lawbreakers who did it unintentionally or because they had no other ways to deal with the situation. In these cases, education gives the answers to their questions and lightens up their mindset, resulting in further legal actions. On the other hand, there are occasions when individuals have to complete a sentence. For instance, some people, despite the previous process of rehabilitation, also tend to commit crimes again. These lawbreakers engage in a criminal activity intentionally; the worst part is that this is their lifestyle. For them, education might not be the correct approach of treating them, while prison will give them the opportunity to think about their faults and change their attitudes. In addition, there are severe crimes that have ended with the death of not one person but several people. As a result, by trying to let them learn how to differ between black and white, officials cannot bring back those people who were innocent. Therefore, by imposing strict punishments, fairness can be balanced, so others follow. In conclusion, personally, I agree that education can be a more effective way of punishment for lawbreakers, however, only if the crime has been committed unintentionally. Otherwise, this may not be enough for offenders to understand their mistakes, and these cases need stricter methods to be used.