Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is causing damage to the environment and should be stopped now.

The effect of economic growth has been debated over the last few decades. Many people argued that the only way to terminate famine and make people wealthier is economic growth, where others believed that economic climb can cause negative impact to the nature and should be ended immediately. It is undeniable that economic development can damage the environment. For example, industrial revolution had caused nature around major European cities got polluted. Economic growth comes with thriving energy consumption, which means massive amount fossil fuel needs to be used. This can lead to rising amount of carbon emission can cause irreversible damage to atmosphere. In addition, the harmful waste product created by industries can be released into water bodies such as oceans and lakes, which cause water to be polluted and even extinction of waterbourne life. However, without economic growth, poverty and famine cannot be eliminated. Without economic development, no jobs can be created and lead to a high unemployment rate. Economic growth not only introduce more jobs, it also make more cheap products avaliable for people, so people can afford food and hunger can be avoided. In my opinion, stopping economic development because of pollution can result in many troubles. First, no economic growth can reduce people's quality of life significantly. In addition, there are many things that can be done to ensure damage on environment is minimized. Such as using renewable energy and encourage sustainable economic developement. I agree with the point that economic growth is the only solution for hunger and poverty, as the are no other possible things that can be done with the identical effect. In conclusion, economic growth can effectively reduce famine and poverty and the environmental impact caused by econominc developed can be avoided.