Nowadays,shopping has become an unavoidable activity among youngsterswhich has suppressed many essential exercises needed for individuals. Do the merits of the given trend outweighs the demerits?

Of late, shopping has grown progresssively as an integral element in the life of the younger generation, for which they are even willing to compromise their health. Considering the deleterious effects of consumerism, I strongly believe that the negative impacts of this lifestyle require genuine attention. Firstly, consumer culture has been blooming among the youth. As a result, the holidays and vacations have been replaced from adventurous or serene locations to regions which offer a varied space for shopping. Hence, the level of activity has decreased drastically. For example, the young adults, today, prefer to travel to Dubai because of the wide variety of options they get to purchase from. Additionally, along with the shopping culture, dining out culture also flourishes. Very often, youngsters plan shopping combined with a meal from outside, which is usually a junk meal. This would ultimately result in an unhealthy dietary lifestyle which when coupled with lack of exercise can have deterimental effect on life that leads to lifestyle diseases such as obesity or diabetes. For instance, young individuals prefer to go to commercial malls which provide many shops under the same roof. These malls are functioning with a food court which serves delicious foods of different brands for reasonable prices that attracts the youth to a great deal. In conclusion, considering both the views, it can be justified that consumerism among the youngsters can affect their lifestyle adversely. When lack of physical activity is added to it, it may further complicate the overall well-being of an individual. Therefore, it is paramount to balance both the shopping culture and incorporation of a healthy lifestyle.