Some people believe that universities should provide graduates with practical skills and knowledge that are directly applicable to the workplace. Others argue that universities should focus on providing a more theoretical and academic education. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, there has been an increasing demand for entering higher education amongst young people to get better career opportunities. Some believe that undergraduates should be equipped with practical skills and knowledge that are essential to the workplace, while others argue that academic education should be the main focus. This will be demonstrated by discussing the positive role of practical knowledge as well as why academic skills could be beneficial for students. As far as I am concerned, fresh graduates who possess interpersonal skills can have higher advantages in getting a good job and becoming productive at work. This is because many organizations and enterprises now are more likely to prefer employees that are capable of adaptability and problem-solving skills, which may not be obtained from studying at universities. For example, in Vietnam, research shows that freshers who took part in interpersonal skills courses can work well under higher pressure and resolve issues at work independently. Therefore, universities should not overlook this benefit and consider providing undergraduates with more internship programs so that they can get exposed to hands-on experience, which is important to get to know the professional environment. However, just emphasizing practical knowledge would undermine the benefits of academic knowledge. As for certain areas requiring technical skills such as doctors or science, students can also develop analyzing skills and critical thinking through absorbing the fundamentals that are indispensibly important. For example, physicians must have qualifications to practice, but without studying medical theories properly they may perform incorrect approaches leading to causing harm to their patients. Still, the one having effective communication skills can help their patients identify health problems promptly. In conclusion, while teaching practical knowledge can ideally prepare undergraduates for their professionalism, academic knowledge also plays a crucial role in verifying one's working performance. Personally, I believe that individuals with interpersonal skills can be more adaptable to the fast pace of the world of work.