Nowadays, young people communicate with friends and family mostly through social networking sites, rather than other ways of communication like talking on the phone or face to face. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the increasing popularity of social media, such as Instagram and Facebook, teenagers tend to contact with their relatives and peers using them instead of using traditional methods, including telephone and in-person communication. This essay believes such changes are negative because of the irreplacibility of certain features in traditional methods of communication and the increase of risks in suffering from mental illness among the youth. To commence with, various unique aspects of in-person communication cannot be dones via social networking sites. While chatting via social media provides a great range of choices for users to interact with one another, some features of telephone calls or face to face discussions cannot be seen with the use of social medias. This has made communication become incomprehensive in understanding one another, weaking the function and importance of having interaction. Using Instagram as an example. Although users can send texts, emojis and stickers to their family and friends, some features, including intonation in speaking, facial expressions and body languages, can hardly be observed when social media are used as the medium of interactions. However, these features are important in recognizing the feelings and actual thoughts of others. Without these features, discussions would become less vibrant, which shows that replacing authetic conversation with texts and messages in social network sites may be an adverse development. In addition, such development poses a higher threat for adolescents to suffer from mental illness. Using social media for conversation means people have a higher flexibility in socializing. This implies users may spend their short gap hours to socialize. Nevertheless, for a meaningful conversation to take place, a long time is needed. With shorter time for communication, people can barely make deep conversations. As a result, the opportunity for user to share about themselves is hindered. Even if they have a personal issue they are eager to share, they may not be able to do so because deep conversations can hardly be done. Eventually, as people fail to express themselves, negative thoughts accumulates, posing higher risks for the youngsters to suffer from emotional behavioural disorders, including depression. To exemplify, in developed cities such as the US, Japan and Hong Kong, there are increasing more teenagers who suffer from depression. The rising popularity of social media replaces in-person interactions, hence weakening the social well-being of young people. To conclude, replacing traditional ways of communication with social media is a negative development due to the irreplacibility of features in authentic communication and the deterioration of mental health among teenagers. It is hoped that educators can encourage adolescents to have more in-person communication, so that their well-being can be enhanced.